Farmworker Justice Los Angeles Award Reception
February 24, 2016
6:00 pm to 8:30 pm
Location:  Sheppard Mullin Law Firm, 333 S. Hope St., 43d Floor, Los Angeles.

 Our Los Angeles Award Reception will honor two deserving individuals, both immigrants who started out in life as farmworkers.

Farmworker Justice is proud to honor awardees: 

Amelia Morán Ceja, the CEO of Ceja Vineyards in Napa, will receive the Dolores Huerta Award. She is an immigrant from Mexico who was a migrant farmworker as a child, the daughter of farmworkers, and has built a successful winery. This past year she helped Farmworker Justice advocate successfully with EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy for the new EPA Worker Protection Standard on pesticides.

Hugo Morales is co-founder and Executive Director of Radio Bilingüe. He is an immigrant, a Mixtec Indian from Oaxaca, Mexico, who grew up picking grapes in California, and later graduated from Harvard Law School. Radio Bilingüe began in California’s San Joaquin Valley, serving farmworker communities, and has become a major national public media service.

Host Committee
Host: Alfred Fraijo, Jr., Partner Sheppard Mullin law firm

María Elena Durazo, General Vice President for Immigration, Civil Rights, and Diversity, UNITE HERE
Lalo Alcaraz, political cartoonist and co-writer of TV series, “Bordertown”
Gilbert Vasquez, CEO, Vasquez & Co. accounting firm
Tony Salazar, West Coast President, McCormack Baron Salazar economic development firm   

Current Sponsors

Social Justice Advocate
Thornton Law Firm LLP
Waters & Kraus, LLP
Kazan, McClain, Satterley & Greenwood Law Firm

Harvester of Justice
Mayer Brown
Eileen Fisher Corp.
UFCW Local 770

Cultivator of Justice
Maria Montano in honor of Franciso Montano
The California Endowment

Farmworker Friend
Vasquez & Company LLP
Robert Holcomb

Sponsorship Opportunities:

Presenting Partner ($10,000 and above) - 10 tickets, welcoming statement

Leader of Justice ($5,000 to $9,999) - 6 tickets

Social Justice Advocate ($2,500 to $4,999) - 4 tickets

Harvester of Justice ($1,000 to $2,499) - 3 tickets

Cultivator of Justice ($500 to $999) - 2 tickets

Farmworker Friend ($250 to $499) - 1 ticket

Please contact Carolyn Lesesane at [email protected]   or 202-293-5420 ext. 301 for more information about sponsorships. 

Payment can be made online (click here) or by check:

Please make checks payable to Farmworker Justice and mail to:

Farmworker Justice
1126 16th Street, NW, Suite 270
Washington, DC 20036

Together, let’s help protect the people who labor in the fields to feed us!
Farmworker Justice® is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization; donations are tax-deductible to the full extent of the law.

Your support helps Farmworker Justice continue its important work.